Join | Forgot your password?
Baileys Top RightTattersalls Chelt Main Banner

Latest News

O'Neill takes Northern and Eastern Title

O'Neill takes Northern and Eastern Title

(Barry O'Neill accepting his award from Niamh Doyle, HRI)

HRI Eastern Award - Barry O’Neill

The HRI Eastern region has been dominated by Jamie Codd having won this award for the past 11 years.  John Berry another Wexford native previously held the record with nine consecutive titles from 1986-1994.

25 meetings took place in the Eastern region this season starting with Castletown-Geoghegan in October and finishing with Oldcastle in May.

Barry O’Neill was runner-up in this region for the past five years behind Jamie Codd before securing his first success in the region last season.

Entering the weekend of the 20th May at Oldcastle, O’Neill held an eight winner advantage over Rob James, and went on to ride a treble on the day which saw him finish up on 27 winners in the region.

Rob James enjoyed his best ever season in the region finishing up in second on 17 winners, with the side-lined Jamie Codd in third on 15 winners.

O’Neill rode a treble at Tinahely on the second weekend of the season which saw him go into the leading position and he then remained in front for the rest of the season in the Eastern region where he also rode a treble at Oldcastle, Monskgrange and Borris as well as four doubles at Bellurgan Park, Ballinaboola, Castletown-Geoghegan and Lingstown.

Colin Bowe was his best supporter having provided him with 14 winners in the Eastern region.

HRI Northern Award – Barry O’Neill

Barry O’Neill claimed his first HRI Northern Title this season with 16 winner’s having finished second the previous two years.

In winning both the Northern and Eastern titles, O’Neill follows Tony Martin and Jamie Codd who both achieved the same result in 1995 and in 2011 and 2014.

O’Neill rode his first winner in the northern region at Portrush where he had a double and ended the northern season with a winner at the same fixture.

His best support came from David Christie who provided him with six winners and Colin Bowe who gave him four winners.

He finished four winners clear of Jamie Codd (12) and Mark O’Hare (12).

Search the Archives

recent news story
Nineteen wild card entries added to next Tuesday's Tattersalls Ascot August sale
recent news story
Racing Stars Under Starters Orders for Jog for Jockeys at Curragh on Saturday September 1.
recent news story
Run Wild Fred and Howling Milan, winners at Dawstown and Necarne, were disqualified for testing posititve for a prohibited substance.
recent news story
Sean O'Keeffe will becomes a professional jockey at Tramore on Thursday following a breakthrough season between the flags.
recent news story
Important Hunter Certificate notice for those wishing to run on the opening weekend of the Autumn Season.
recent news story
Kilbarry Lodge's Stud Diamond Boy sired a three-year-old winner in France on Friday.
recent news story
Colin Bowe, Brian Hamilton and Mouse Morris will join Pat Doyle in training the Gigginstown point-to-pointers.
recent news story
The 78-year-old was a regular presence in the betting ring at point-to-point fixtures standing alongside his son Justin.
recent news story
A total of 29 fixtures are scheduled to take place this autumn beginning at Toomebridge on Saturday 6th October.
recent news story
The three-time Grade 1 winner died after colic complications whilst out in the field on his summer break.
recent news story
A look back at each meeting during the 2017/18 season.
recent news story
The latest addition to is now available, which will allow supporters to follow the declarations each weekend.
recent news story
Our latest initiative to promote attendances at point-to-points is now live.
P2P Clothing
European UnionEU SIFPITMOfig Fiontair Aitiuil
© Irish Point to Point Services Ltd, 2014. All rights reserved. Grangeclare West, Kilmeague, Naas, Co Kildare
Cookie Policy | Privacy Policy
Hosting and Development by HostIreland